bake.sweat.create.

Adventures in the kitchen, in fitness and with glitter!

The Best Oatmeal Cookie Bars

Leave a comment

Last night I whipped up my go-to quick dessert for a tailgate prior to a Milwaukee Brewers game today with my co-workers. These Oatmeal Cookie Bars are super easy and super delicious!

20140613-234326-85406916.jpg

I have made these several times before and used a variety of chocolate combinations. This time around I substituted applesauce for the oil the recipe called for and used a combination of milk chocolate chips and peanut butter M&Ms, a great decision if I do say so myself! The addition of the peanut butter is a savory touch to the sweetness of the bars. The key to this recipe, as it notes, is to be sure not to over-cook the batter so as not to dry out the bars.

We had a great late afternoon tailgate before the game and luckily most of the bars disappeared!

20140613-235048-85848290.jpg

Leave a Reply

