bake.sweat.create.

Adventures in the kitchen, in fitness and with glitter!

Race Day!

Leave a comment

This morning was the big day! Half-Marathon race day! I actually woke up at 5:15 am all on my own for the 7 am start at the Capitol. It left me a few extra minutes for some pre-race foam rolling. The course weaved through some of my favorite places in Madison – the Capitol and State Street, around Camp Randall and the Arboretum – but boy where there some hills!

Really, no flat terrain??

Really, no flat terrain??

It was a HOT day in Madison, short-sleeve weather from the start and the day heated up fast. I started taking water early in the race and was rethinking my choice of a t-shirt by mile six. But I finished, defeated all the elevation and was under two hours, which was well off my goal time. But, considering the heat, winter training plan and course I will take it for now. However, I am interested in redeeming myself towards the end of the summer.

My lovely training partner - she was a speed demon today!

My lovely training partner – she was a speed demon today!

More training runs to come with her in the future! Overall, it was great to work towards this goal, have a great day out and about Madison and I am excited about my achievement!

Selfie at the end of the race!

Selfie at the end of the race!

 

Leave a Reply

